The Twelve Best Comedians from Saturday Night Live

SNLYou may be aware that 142 comedians have wandered across the stage at SNL since it’s inception in 1975. Some of them legends, some of them not and some that chose to go into other fields such as Al Franken (who is now the junior U.S. Senator from Minnesota) or Robert Downy Jr. (who is an amazing actor with funny little comments and sarcastic wit that makes me chuckle during the Iron Man and Avengers movies, but he is not what I would consider a comedian).
I chose this list based on not only the popularity of their sketches while at SNL, but also their ability to keep their careers going as comedians. Most of the people who I have chosen are not recent SNL comedians, I don’t feel that they have been around long enough to prove to me that they have what it takes to become a legend in the field. But I have high hopes for Andy Samberg. I have also created a list of runner ups for those comedians who have left their mark in the field but seem to have either fallen out of the traditional “comedian” role, or who used to be funny but over the years they’ve lost their touch.

So without further adieu, here is my list of the Twelve Best Comedians to come out of Saturday Night Live, in no particular order.

12 Best Comedians from SNL
1) Dan Aykroyd (1975-1979)
One of the original cast members of SNL, Dan Aykroyd not only saved the city of New York from a giant State Puff Marshmallow man, but he also played some mean blues. His most recent endeavor was in 2015’s Pixels.
2) Chevy Chase (1975-1976)
Also an original SNL cast member, Chevy Chase will always be remembered as Mark Griswold. The man who fried a cat with a string of Christmas lights and got stuck in a round-a-bout in Europe. He was also a pivotal character, Ty Webb in the 1980’s hit Caddyshack. One of my favorite Chevy Chase movies was Spies like Us (1985). If you haven’t seen it, I suggest it.
3) Billy Crystal (1984-1985)
Some of you may be asking, who is Billy Crystal? Shame on you is all that I can say. Not only is Billy Crystal one of the most famous stand up comedians out there but he also played Harry in When Harry met Sally (1989) and my personal favorite City Slickers (1991) where he helped birth a calf and ended up taking it home because it’s mother died. I highly recommend the movie. He was nominated for over 70 awards due to his comedic genius and won 33 of them. His most recent endeavor has been the voice of Mike Wazowski in Monsters, Inc.
4) Jimmy Fallon (1998-2004)
I don’t think he needs much of an introduction. He got his start on SNL and did a few movies here and there but his best material has been reserved for late night comedy. He was an excellent choice for taking over the tonight show. His most recent appearance was in the new movie Jurassic World where he did a small cameo.
5) Will Ferrell (1995-2002)
Will is another guy that doesn’t need an introduction. His impressions are amazing and his slapstick comedy keeps us laughing all the way through the stupidly funny movies he keeps making. If you don’t know Ron Burgundy, I can’t help you. I recently saw a quiz on social media asking “who really said it Ron Burgundy or Donald Trump” and the similarities are startling. I am excited to see his upcoming performance in Zoolander 2.
6) Tina Fey (2000-2006)tinafey
Everyone will forever know Tina Fey as the face of Sarah Palin. Her impersonation is so spot on that the skit is just the backdrop. Her career has taken her through TV, 30 Rock (2006-2013), and the movies where she worked with the fellow SNLer Amy Poehler (Baby Mamma 2008) and the infamous Steve Carell (Date Night 2010).
7) Mike Meyers (1989-1995)
I originally didn’t consider Mike because he hasn’t done that much lately other than voice Shrek. But with classics like Wayne’s World (1992), the Austin Powers trilogy (1992-2002) and most recently the Shrek series (2001-2010) it’s kinda hard not to put him on this list.
8) Eddie Murphy (1980-1984)
I will always love Mr. Robinson’s neighborhood. Not only was Murphy a truly funny comedian but his movies were also just as good. Although they got a little cheesy towards the end with the Nutty Professor (1996) and Dr. Doolittle (1998), his earlier movies were classics. Who could forget Beverly Hills Cop (1984) or the Golden Child (1986)? I bet you just did. But Murphy has redeemed himself in my eyes with his current role as Donkey in Shrek.
9) Bill Murray (1977-1980)
Do I really have to say anymore? It’s Bill f******g Murray.
10) Adam Sandler (1991-1995)
Personally, Adam Sandler is one of my favorite comedians. I didn’t like his early stuff like Billy Madison (1995) but he started to grow on me with the wedding singer (1998) and Happy Gilmore (1996). 50 First Dates (2004) is one of my favorite movies and Grown Ups (2010), written by Sandler, was one of the funniest movies I had seen in a long time. Adam’s stand up comedy was also great back in the day especially when he came out with the Chanukah Song (1994) which was first played on SNL. Now that he has a successful production company, Happy Madison, I don’t think he does stand up anymore. Although a lot of his fans feel that he has gone soft, it doesn’t bother me.
11) Amy Poehler (2001-2008)
I didn’t really like Amy very much until I started watching Parks and Recreation (2009-20015). She solidified my vote after watching Wet Hot American Summer (2015) on Netflix. In addition to her current roles, she also played opposite Tina Fey in Baby Momma (2008) and is the executive producer of a new Hulu Series called Difficult People (2015) which started airing last month. I haven’t seen it yet but I’ve heard amazing things about it. She has been nominated for 59 separate awards and won 9 of them.
12) Ben Stiller (1989)
Finally we get to Ben Stiller. From There’s Something About Mary (1998) and Meet the Parents (2000) to Zoolander (2001) and Tropic Thunder (2008), Ben is a master of the “awkward guy” and the “idiot”. Not only is Ben a comedian and actor but he is also a director with his first debut in 1994 with Reality Bites. He has become synonymous with Alex the lion from Madagascar in recent years and his most recent film, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, which he produced, directed and starred in, was released in 2013.

I would like to give a special shout out to a comedian whose time was up way too soon. I think had he stuck around, he would have had an amazing career and so he is worth mentioning here. Chris Farely was the “fat guy in a little coat” that made us laugh back then and still now whenever we seen someone wearing something that’s too small for them. He will always be remembered as a comedy icon.
Runner Ups
1) Tracey Morgan (1996-2003)
Tracey had a great career in both TV with 30 Rock (2006-2013) and in stand up comedy. Unfortunately, he hasn’t been around much in the last year due to a vehicle accident involving a Walmart tractor-trailer. He was involved in a movie that was released in February of this year called Accidental Love.
2) David Spade (1990-1996)
David Spade is another one of my favorite comedians. I will forever and always love Joe Dirt (2001). I wasn’t thrilled with his roles on Just Shoot Me (1997-2003) and Rules of Engagement (2007-2013) where he was type casted into playing an obnoxious, self-centered, playboy. However, no one should forget his earlier movies Tommy Boy (1995) and Black Sheep (1996) with Chris Farely.
3) Julia Louis-Dreyfus (1982-1985)
I originally didn’t consider Julia because, well Frankly, I don’t really like her that much. I couldn’t really stand anyone on Seinfeld but she has redeemed herself with her new show VEEP (2010-present). I don’t really watch the show but the few episodes I have seen, were pretty good.
4) Chris Rock (1990-1993)
Chris is a really funny guy. I feel like his funniest stuff was stand up. He did do some classic movie bit parts like in Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back (2001) and although his role in Grown Ups (2010) was a main character, he wasn’t that funny in it. Currently his most famous role in film is the voice of Marty the zebra in the Madagascar series (2005-2013). He also had a successful run with a TV show which kinda followed his life as a child called Everybody Hates Chris (2005-2009).
5) Sarah Silverman (1993-1994)
I don’t personally like Sarah’s brand of comedy. She’s pretty brash. But I will admit, her skits require real cajones to pull off. She is best known for her stand up comedy but she has done plenty of movies. Just none that I really like. But someone did because she’s been nominated for 15 different awards and walked home with 2 of them.

Do you agree with me on these? Please leave comments below and let me know who you would have picked!

Leave a comment